PACMANdemonium

In honor of Philippine Independence Day today…

I’m a sports fan, largely thanks to my family being sports fans. I remember watching Super Bowl XV when I was 5, in which our beloved Philadelphia Eagles lost to the Oakland Raiders in 1981. Watching the Sixers win the NBA championship when I was 8. And so on. Lots of hollering and yelling, lots of fun. But boxing matches, they were the best hollering and yelling, the best fun. Especially if it was a big fight.

Enter Manny Pacquiao.

Manny Pacquiao is a national icon, and a rare source of global sports pride for us Filipinos. His fight nights are half-joked as the safest nights in the Philippines — everyone is watching, even the criminals. I’d say that his fight nights are like the Filipino Super Bowl.Β  So when his title fight with Ricky Hatton last month rolled around, I grabbed my video camera to capture the fun. What better hollering and yelling could there be?

Round 1:

Round 2:

(And that’s my mom being restrained by my dad in the first clip. Still cracks me up!)

The fun thing is, it’s not just my crazy Filipino family. Lots of crazy Filipino families reacted like mine! Search “pacquiao family reaction” on YouTube and see for yourself. This is my favorite.

1 Response to “PACMANdemonium”


  1. 1 Her Artichoke Heart June 14, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    That was awesome, and very educational for me — my family never got that worked up about ANY sport! I think we were missing out! πŸ™‚
    Happy Philippine Independence!!


Leave a Reply

dynowright on Twitter

  • RT @SteveDeCusatis: I saw some sweet smokestack type today in North Philly and I know at least two people who would like it: @dynowright @g… 2 days ago
  • @SteveDeCusatis @gowelsh Yesssssss 2 days ago
  • RT @Rosen: HISTORY OF US PRESIDENTS: πŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘΄πŸΌπŸ‘¨πŸΎπŸ‘Ή 3 days ago
  • RT @PJMajoney: I'm not mad at the fox. He's a fox. I'm mad at the sane Republicans who put him in the henhouse. 3 days ago
  • RT @wayne5540: Um... https://t.co/D0Jx40r5RL 4 days ago

