My Brain on Shuffle

or, “March is Mental Music Month” at dyn-o-write.

The What: Every day this month I document the first song that pops into my head in the morning.

The Why: Just to see if and what patterns develop, what oddball songs may pop into my head, and so on. I think it will be fun, so here goes:

The List:

March 1: A Tribe Called Quest, “Lyrics to Go”
No surprise, as I was listening to a lot of ATCQ in February.

March 2: Billy Joel, “Scenes from an Italian Restaurant”
Also not a surprise, recently listening to a lot of early Billy Joel.

March 3: Juvenile, Wacko, Skip, “Nolia Clap”
Definitely a surprise. Where did this come from?

March 4: A Tribe Called Quest, “Lyrics to Go”
Still not a surprise. The Minnie Riperton sample is so great.

March 5: Cheap Trick, “Dream Police”
I was on a big Cheap Trick kick yesterday, so this probably spilled over.

March 6: The Human League, “Don’t You Want Me?”
That was random!

March 7: Alice in Chains, “No Excuses”
Another random one! Not even that big an AIC fan, but songs is songs.

March 8: Luscious Jackson, “Rollin'”
Now we’re really shuffling. One of my favorite Luscious Jackson songs.

March 9: A Tribe Called Quest, “Oh My God”
I started B.I.G. day with Busta Rhymes, go figure.

March 10: Billy Joel, “Streetlife Serenader”
It all comes back to Tribe and Billy Joel? Well, I did have this record on yesterday.

March 11: Smashing Pumpkins, “Starla”
And now, back to randomonium.

March 12: Bobby Brown, “Every Little Step”
Don’t hate, you know you want giant white letters behind you when you walk.

March 13: LL Cool J, “Mama Said Knock You Out”
Huhh!

March 14: Cheap Trick, “Surrender”
“We’re all alright! We’re all alright!”

March 15: Cheap Trick, “Surrender”
The first (back-to-back) repeat of the month. “Got my Kiss records ouuuuuut!”

March 16: Smash Mouth, “All Star”
Cue “Sad Trombone“. I guess a song I don’t really like had to pop up at some point.

March 17: Bobby Brown, “Every Little Step”
Because when I think St. Patrick’s Day, I think Bobby Brown?

March 18: Midnight Oil, “Sometimes”
I was listening to Midnight Oil a few days ago, so maybe this was percolating.

March 19: “SpongeBob SquarePants Theme”
I don’t know where this came from but SPONGE! BOB! SQUARE! PANTS!

March 20: Wilco, “Pot Kettle Black”
Yesterday I was playing
Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, a truly great album, over and over, so that’s where this song originated.

March 21: Theme from “The New Tic Tac Dough”
Wow! Where did this come from?! (Lots of daytime television during my formative years, that’s where.)

March 22: Wilco, “Pot Kettle Black”
“Every song’s a comeback/Every moment’s a little bit later”

March 23: Ben Folds Five, “Battle of Who Could Care Less”
Probably because of the three seconds Chris and I spent last night talking about the upcoming Ben Folds Five show at the Wellmont. That’s all it takes sometimes.

March 24: Faith No More & Boo-Yaa T.R.I.B.E., “Another Body Murdered”
Yesterday I dusted off the
Judgment Night soundtrack, and there you have it.

March 25: Wilco, “Kamera”
Yet another Wilco tune from
Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. It’s like nutritious music for your brain. It even sticks to your mental ribs.

March 26: Chicago, “Beginnings”
Through the magic of YouTube, I played this over and over yesterday. Terry Kath on guitar, people!

March 27: Steely Dan, “Babylon Sisters”
I listen to Steely Dan a lot, and yesterday was no exception. But I don’t think this song came on my stereo, so there you have it. Residual Dan!

March 28: Steely Dan, “Black Friday”
More residual Dan. I wasn’t even listening to this song yesterday, yet it popped. (Yesterday was a lot of “FM” and “Babylon Sisters”.)

March 29: Chicago, “Beginnings”
Residual Chicago? There you have it. I just love the horn outro on this one.

March 30: Oasis, “Wonderwall”
Bleh. This was not a result of me listening to Oasis yesterday. I haven’t listened to Oasis intentionally since 1994.

March 31: Wilco, “I’m the Man Who Loves You”
Residual Wilco. Yet another track from
Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.

1 Response to “My Brain on Shuffle”


  1. 1 Her Artichoke Heart March 21, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Cool! Now that is a random list! Especially the SpongeBob SquarePants theme. 🙂


Leave a Reply

dynowright on Twitter


